Village of Hobart-Town of Lawrence Police Commission Meeting Minutes – Wednesday, February 17, 2021 @ 5:30 PM\*

Town of Lawrence Office 2400 Shady Court DePere, WI 54115

# Call to Order, Roll Call

The meeting was called to order by John Shimek @ 5:33 PM. John Shimek (Chairman), Melissa Tanke (Secretary), Gary Pieschek (Vice Chairman), Don Hedrick, and Ron Jaeger were present. Chief Bani was also present. Kevin Brienen, Town of Lawrence Board Member, was in attendance\*.

<u>Certification of the Wisconsin Open Meeting Law and agenda requirement; approval of the agenda</u>

A motion to approve the agenda as posted was made by Gary Pieschek, seconded by John Shimek. All in favor; motion carried.

### **Approve Meeting Minutes of 12-16-20**

A motion to approve minutes of the December 16<sup>th</sup>, 2020 meeting was made by John Shimek, seconded by Ron Jaeger. All in favor; motion carried.

## **Police Department Update by Chief Bani**

The process by which a Municipal Judge is replaced was discussed. The department's policy manual is being updated, a process that is expected to take a full year. Officers will be fully trained and informed of the new policies once the manual update is complete. Officer evaluations are complete, with the exception of the two evaluations that are planned to take place following tonight's HLPC meeting. The transition to the new records management system is going well.

Ron Jeager's 5 year term as a Police Commissioner will be expiring in 2021. Ron has agreed to serve another 5 year term; the Town of Lawrence's formal re-appointment is pending. The remaining 5 year commission appointments expire as follows: Commissioner Melissa Tanke, 2022; John Shimek, 2023; Don Hedrick, 2023; Gary Pieschek, 2024.

## **Discussion & Action: Election of Officers**

John Shimek will continue to serve as Chairman for the HLPC. Melissa Tanke will continue to serve as HLPC Secretary. A motion was made to formally elect Gary Peischek as HLPC Vice Chairman. Motion made by John Shimek, seconded by Melissa Tanke. Unanimous vote in favor of electing Gary Pieschek as Vice Chairman.

### **Discussion & Action: Meeting Guidelines & Commission Procedures**

The commission discussed Robert's Rule of Order and the February 2<sup>nd</sup> Hobart Village Board meeting. Due to time limitations, the discussion regarding meeting guidelines and commission procedures will be continued in a future meeting; motion made by John Shimek, seconded by Gary Pieschek. Motion passed unanimously.

### Discussion & Action: Scheduling of the next HLPC meeting

The next meeting will be scheduled by John Shimek and take place during the month of April or May. Any Commissioner may, at any time, call for a meeting and/or add items to upcoming meeting agendas as they see fit. Chief Bani will request meetings as needed.

### **Adjourn to Closed Session**

At 6:21 PM, the commission convened to closed session under Wisconsin State Statute 19.85 (1) (c) Considering employment, promotion, compensation or performance evaluation data of any public employee over which the governmental body has jurisdiction or exercises responsibility. The motion to adjourn to closed session was make by Melissa Tanke and seconded by John Shimek. The motion passed unanimously.

#### **Convene into Open Session**

Motion by Melissa Tanke, second by Ron Jeager to convene to open session at 7:50 PM. All in favor. Motion passed.

#### **Action from Closed Session**

Motion by Ron Jaeger, second by Melissa Tanke to approve the promotion of Officer Chris Tremel to the the position of Sergeant in accordance with the job description and HLPD policy. The motion passed unanimously; all in favor of Officer Tremel's promotion.

#### **Adjourn**

Meeting adjourned at 7:56 PM. Motion made by Ron Jeager, second by John Shimek.

\*In error, the meeting start time was posted as 6:00 PM. As a result of the erroneously published meeting time, Melissa Tanke provided Town of Lawrence Chairman Kevin Brienen a recap of the meeting discussion that took place prior to his arrival. Tangentially, the process for engaging the public and means by which the commission could receive comments from public were discussed.

Meeting Minutes submitted by: Melissa Tanke