
Occupational  License

An  occupational  license  is a restricted  driver  license  that  may  be available  to you  if  your

privilege  to operate  a motor  vehicle  is suspended  or revoked.  An  occupational  license  enables

you  to maintain  your  employment  and  household.  Unlike  a regular  license,  an occupational

license  limits  when,  where,  and  what  type  of  vehicle  you  may  drive.

Important:  You  must  have  an SR22  Insurance  Certificate  on file  with  the DMV  to qualify  for

an occupational  license.

With  an Occupational  License,  you  may  drive:

*  To and  from  work

*  To and  from  school,  college,  or  university

*  To and  from  places  that  you  need  to visit  to maintain  your  household  such  as:

o Grocery  store  or market

o Pharmacy

o Laundromat

o Gas station

*  To  and  from  your  church  or  place  of  worship

*  To attend  to necessary  family  needs  such  as medical  appointments  and  Driver  Safety  Plan

You  may  not  use and  occupational  license  for:

*  Recreational  purposes  such  as:

o  Visit  family  or friends

o  Attending  a social  or  sporting  event

*  Operation  of  a commercial  motor  vehicle  in accordance  with  the  Motor  Carrier  Safety

Improvement  Act  of  1999

Your  occupational  license  will  specifically  state the  hours  you  will  be permitted  to operate  a

motor  vehicle.  Your  total  driving  time  is limited  to:

*  12 hours  driving  per  day  (need  not  be consecutive  hours)

@ 60 hours  total  driving  for  the  week

Your  occupational  license  will  limit  where  you  may  drive.  On  your  application,  you  will  list:

*  Wisconsin  counties  in which  you  need  to drive

*  Other  states in  which  you  need  to drive

o If  you  need  to drive  in  another  state,  you  must  check  with  that  state  to see if  they

allow  you  to drive  in  that  state  with  a Wisconsin  occupational  license

If  you  operate  a motor  vehicle  outside  the  specified  hours  or for  a purpose  not  specified  on the

occupational  license,  you  can  be cited  for  operating  after  suspension  or  revocation.



How  to  Apply  for  an Occupational  License

To  be eligible  to apply  for  an occupational  license,  your  Privilege  to Operate  a Motor  Vehicle

must  be suspended  or  revoked  for  a reason  that  allows  an Occupational  License  to be issued.

OR

These  are the steps to take  if  your  driver  license  was  suspended  or revoked  but  you  are allowed

an Occupational  License  to be issued:

Check  with  the WI  DOT  to determine  if  you  are eligible

If  Eligible,  you  will  need  to:

*  Complete  for  MV3027.  On this  form,  you  will  list:

o The  counties  or states in which  you  will  be driving

o The  time(s)  of  day  you  will  be driving

o The  purpose  of  your  driving,  e.g.: work,  hcmemaker  doaties, Driver  Safety  Plan

*  Complete  form  MV3001

o If  you  are under  18 years  old,  a sponsor  signature  is required

*  Complete  any  required  test,  including  vision  screening

*  Provide  proof  of  your  identity

*  Provide  documentary  proof  that  you  are legally  present  in the United  States

*  Provide  an SR22,  proof  of  insurance

*  Pay  the nonrefundable  application  fee

o Note:  Filing  an application  and  paying  the fee does not  guarantee  issuance  of  an

Occupational  License

*  If  you  are revoked  for  Operating  While  Intoxicated  (OWI),  you  must  complete  an

Alcohol  or Other  Drug  Assessment  and  participate  in  Driver  Safety  Plan

*  If  the court  has ordered  you  to install  an Ignition  Interlock  Device  (IID),  provide  proof  of

installation  for  every  vehicle  titled  or registered  to you  unless  exempted  by  the court

Two  hours  are needed  to process  an Occupational  License  Application.  Plan  to arrive  at the

DMV  customer  service  center  at least  two  hours  before  the center  is scheduled  to close.

Depending  upon  the hours  the DMV  customer  service  center  is open,  you  may  receive  your

occupational  license  the same day. If  it is near  the DMV  customer  service  center's  closing  time

or if  they  need  to fax  your  application  to the Driver  Information  Section,  you  may  be asked  to

return  the next  day  or  the next  time  that  the DMV  customer  service  center  is open  to have  your

Occupational  License  issued.

Driver  Information  Section

p.o.  Box  7983

Madison,  WI  53707-7983

Phone:  (608)  264-7447

Fax:  (608)  267-3812


